DBCC REINDEX v. DROP & CREATE

• I am a newbie here, so no flamming please.  I have been working with one of our programmers to re-write our job that re-indexes our large tables  for our main production database.  The old job manually called each table & index and dropped and created it, a process that took about 40 minutes.  With the new job we decided to try DBCC REINDEX, and just let it rebuild all indexes in each table.  The new job completes successfully, but only takes 1 second.  I don't think that this is correct.  So, I have two questions:  1.) Should I expect to see an improvement in performance from DROP / CREATE to REINDEX? 2.) Is there a way to check if the job is indeed rebuilding the indexes?

Thanks!!

• First you should try DBCC INDEXDEFRAG, because this one won't lock the index while defragmenting it.

With DBCC ShowContig you can know wich indexes are fragmented. I have decided that if you have a Logical Scan Fragmentation below 70, then the index is fragmented and run DBCC INDEXDEFRAG.

DBCC INDEXDEFRAG won't always work. If after running it a few time, if you see that it is still fragmented, then you should use DBCC REINDEX.

For help with parameters, check BOL, or ask again.

• Thanks racosta!!

I will give your suggestions a try.  Any idea if I should be seeing that large of a difference in time between reindex and drop / create??

• Racosta,

Sorry to ask but don't you mean a Lgical Scan Fragmentation above 70%  which you might of meant above 30% actually.

I would think a Logical Scan Fragmentation value at 70% is bad as well. It is my belief you want this number to be as close to 0.0% as possbile.

Also remember that Logical Scan Fragmentation value should be ignored for tables that do not have a clustered index.

Kevin Holcomb

SA/DBA

• You should only use DBCC INDEXDEFRAG on indexes with less than 1000 pages, and the if it does have more than 1000 pages then