Delete an instance in 2005 Express

• I am not an expert on SQL Server admin issues, not by a very long shot; I only know enough to design databases for my VB.NET coding projects.

I recently downloaded and installed SQL Server 2005 Express, and then had a hell of a time trying install Management Studio Express properly.

After about 40 attempts installing and uninstalling (do not laugh!), I finally managed to get it work right. My selected setting is Windows Authentication Mode and for the life of me, I cannot remember if I left the sa password as blank or set it to something as I have tried all possible phrases and failed.

What has saved me is that, all those attempts ended up creating two instances: SQLEXPRESS and MSSQLSERVER.

While I cannot log on to the first one, I can log on to the other one with my Windows login.

Although I log in to Windows as an Administrator, I had a brief scare when I could not create databases on MSSQLSERVER because of Windows UAC. I solved that out by launching MSE with Admin privileges and then adding my Windows account to sysadmin role.

I now want to:

1. Delete the SQLEXPRESS instance permanently

2. Retrieve my sa password

Any help will be appreciated.

Regards,

goodguy

Experience is a bad teacher whose exams precede its lessons

• if you can login with your windows login, it doesn't matter what the current password is for sa, just change it to a new, known password: you can rightclick>>Properties of the sa login in the GUI, or:

USE [master]

GO

ALTER LOGIN [sa] WITH PASSWORD=N'NotARealPassword'

GO

to remove the installation, you just go to control panel add/remove programs...you'll see your sql instance in there.

ps: love your sig line!

Lowell