Dev team wants to rely heavily on Views... performance problems?

• Hey Guys --

I'm an old school DBA who has always used Stored Procedures for most things, but in our current project the development team wants to rely heavily on Views instead of Stored Procedures when getting data back from the database for the application. Procedures are only being used when making inserts, updates, or deletes, but they want to use Views for everything else.

In most cases this works fine because they're just selecting a single record from one or more tables joined together so performance is fine. Problem though is with lengthy reports or for datasets that need more heavy processing Views just don't cut it. In prior projects Views weren't used at all, instead we used Stored Procedures for everything, but now that they want to use Views I'm finding some headaches trying to give them what they need.

I think the biggest hurtle is they're writing SQL as if it's an OOP application with TONS of functions and Views that call each other. There are literally cases where a View calls a Function which uses a View which calls another View and so on -- layered logic which is not only horrible to troubleshoot but also I believe performance is taking a huge hit though I'm not sure how to prove this case.

I know the pitfalls of using Views, but being that we just recently moved to SQL 2008 from SQL 2000 I don't have much experience with the new performance and statistics tables in SQL 2008. I don't have any specific examples, but are there any specific examples or documents that might help me do some performance testing where views are chained together?

Thanks for any advice --

• The problem with views is that devs will want to build "one view to rule them all, one view to bind them, one view to bring them and in the darkness destroy any hope of decent database performance anyone ever had" (okay, it's less poetic than the original).