Document storage / retrieval.

• Hi Guys,

I am a web programmer  / not a DBA, but am required obviously, to use SQL and interact with databases.

Sometimes - in this case - I am required to develop the DB along with the application.

A (very simple) Document Management System in this case is required and ultimately my question is:

What is the best way to store the document and allow for ease of searching  / retrieval.

MY intital thought was to store ALL documents as IMAGE datatypes and provide relevant columns for the storage and later searching of meta data. (ie fileName, fileDescription, fileType etc)

I asked a colleague their thoughts and they responded with:

* If the file checked in is a word doc, use the COM interop objects for

word to save it as a temp .txt file and then load that file into a ntext

column in a table that relates to the master document. This will let

you use the free text search in MS SQL Server (CONTAINS and FREETEXT

keywords) - The downside of this is free text search requires regular index

maintenance.

I can see great benefits in allowing the search of the contents of the internal text of documents.

But if it is going to be limited to certain filetypes - what about the others? PDF / Powerpoint / CAD documents?

Is it better to provide great search features for filetypes that have an appropriate COM object to utilise, or is it better to use one process for ALL filetypes and keep the system internals nice and simple?

Or is there some other idea out there that we have not thought to utilise that we should be at the very least considering?

Thanks for all your assistance...

Gavin Baumanis

Smith and Wesson. The original point and click device.

• Hi Gavin,

This may be the second post because something strange happened to my last one.

My company provides access to documents via the web and we use a number of approaches.  The following approach is simple and yet extremely effective:-