"Downsizing" to MSDE ... or something like that ...

• Hi All,

I'm new to SQL Server but have been able to develop a nifty application using SQL Server 2000 and an Access ADP front end. Our company has decided that it would be in our best interests to sell this software to others in our industry.

We would like to offer the SQL Server based program to large companies similar to ours. However, since this industry consists almost entirely of non-profits, we will definitely need to be able to offer a smaller, scaled-down version of this database. The database consists of about 125 tables, 80 or 90 stored procedures, 5-10 triggers, 4 or 5 index constraints, 5 or so functions, 15 to 20 views. The access front end has close to 100 forms and will soon have 50 or so reports.

I'd like to know what our options are. Can we use something like MSDE 2000, SQL Server Express 2005, or some other free database backend that is as cool as SQL Server? I'd use a regular Access mdb type of file, but they tend to be too slow with some of the complex things happening and I think it would be difficult (or impossible) to recreate the needed functionality in VBA or Access's clunky version of SQL. I would like to retain the access front-end with a somewhat powerful backend. Something free (and free to distribute) would be preferable, as our smaller clients would only need to purchase an Office XP license to use the software.

So, can anyone offer some insight into the problems I/we face in selling our software - IP law, copyrights, patents, ANYTHING? Recommendations on the downsized version discussed above and any issues that might arise? Good links on the topic?

Any help you could provide would be beneficial. We are a non-profit, but not one with a hefty wallet. The NFL, after all, is a non-profit as well. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Best Regards,

Kyle Brown

• Kyle,