DTS date stamp

• Hi,

I'm fairly new to DTS packages.  I currently have a DTS package that runs a T-SQL script and dumps a flat file into a directory on the network.  However I can't seem to figure out how to date stamp the file so when it runs the following day it doesn't overwrite the previous file, I don't want it to append the file, I need a fresh dump everyday.

Can anyone please help?

Thanks

Thanks,

Kris

• Hi Kris,

I am assuming you are using a "Text File (Destination)" connection object right? If this is the case you need to dynamically change the name of the file to which you are outputting.

You do this by putting an ActiveX Task prior to the step that outputs to your text file. Put the following code into it:

Function Main()

Dim dt, dtstr

dt = Now

dtstr = CStr( DatePart( "yyyy",  dt  ) ) & _

Right(  "0" & CStr( DatePart( "m", dt ) ), 2 ) & _

Right(  "0" & CStr( DatePart( "d", dt ) ), 2 )

'msgbox dtstr

DTSGlobalVariables.Parent.Connections("MyFile").DataSource = "C:\Myfile" & dtstr & ".txt"

'msgbox DTSGlobalVariables.Parent.Connections("MyFile").DataSource

Main = DTSTaskExecResult_Success

End Function

The code will change the name of the file to c:\MyFile<YYYYMMDD>.txt

I'm sure you can work out how to adapt this to give it the exact name that you want.

There are of course "many ways to skin a crocodile". When you get more familiar with DTS you may want to pass in a timestamp value from the app that calls the DTS package (probably via DTSRun) and then use a Dynamic Properties Task to set your file name. Don't run before you can walk though!

Hope this helps!

• I don't want to sound like a twit, but I've never dealt with ActiveX in my life.

I've changed the "MyFile" to the actual directory it's going to  but it's still failing.  Is there something else I should be changing?