DTS newbie help...

• Ok, I'm new to this DTS thing, and to make matters worse, I don't know ActiveX, VBscript, or JScript (but I can write some SQL -yay!)

Here's what I need to do: Take an Excel2k file and import/update a SQL 7 table. The columns should (almost) all be the same. Essentially, I need to see if a record exists, and if it does update the record with new data, otherwise append to the table. I also want to update a matching table for each entry.

I know I can't just use a Data Pump action, but I don't know how to modify the process.

I appreciate any help.

Update:

Ok, here's some updated info - I've created a data driven query task, and I've created the two step - an insert and an update with parameters. So, now I have some more specific questions:

In the ActiveX control, how do I create conditions to determine if the current row is an insert or update (DTSTransformstat_InsertQuery or DTSTransformstat_UpdateQuery)?

I only seem to have Excel 8 as an option - will this suffice for Excel 2k?

• You really have two paths to achieve this.

1) use a Data driven query. This way you supply T-SQL statments for each of the actions (INSERT/UPDATE/Etc...) and the data transformation is an ActiveScript that determines (via lookups) which t-SQL statement to use. This works fine but bear in mind it changes the datapump to process a row at a time. This can really chew up resources and take a long time if you have 1000's of rows to import.

2) Probably the better option. Import your data into a second table in the database. Then run insert/update/etc... procedures to merge the data. This gives you the speed of a fast data import and set based updating of your existing data.

--------------------
    Colt 45 - the original point and click interface

• 1:> I've created the ins/upd sets, but I need help creating appropriate lookups & conditions for launching them.