Enterprise Manager - Current Activity

• First let me say than I am very new to SQL Server, I am a mainframer and the change has been somewhat confusing and frustrating, so please be patient with me.  We currently have databases set up on a cluster and at first there were only two databases on it.  I am the owner of one of these databases.  We now have 20 or more and when I use Enterprise Manager to view the Current Activity I get the message "Server user (user id) is not a valid in database (database name)"  Is there a way for me to have access to view processes on my database only?  Getting sysadmin rights is not an option for me.  Thanks in advance for your input and patience. 

• Not sure what you are looking to see, but try these two things in Query Analyzer: 

sp_who -- you can add a user name to this function 'user' to only see their processes...

sp_who2 -- this does not allow the user name, but gives more information.

I wasn't born stupid - I had to study.

• I tried the both in query analyzer and all I get is the message "The command(s) completed successfully".  Am I doing something wrong?  I'm hoping to see the Process ID, the status, the Command,  and the Wait Type. 

• That is a truly strange result.  You typed it into Query Analyzer and hit F5 or the green arrow to run it? 

Never seen that result from sp_who.  You are connected to your own database? 

Hope someone else who has seen this comes across this post. 

I wasn't born stupid - I had to study.

• I have had the same problem reported by a couple of users last month. In the past they have been able to view all connections through EM. Now they get the above message. I have confirmed this using a non privileged account but have not found the cause.