Error 17883 during autogrow

• I'm still a bit of a newbie, so please bare with me.

SQL Server 2000 SP3 with 7 user DBs all set to autogrow with no limit.

Most mdf files grow at 100MB and the ldf files: 5 grow at 100MB and 2 at 10MB. Now for the past couple days at about 5:30AM I have been getting Error 17883: "The scheduler 2 appears to be hung..." I believe that one of the databases is attempting to autogrow and it is bring SQL Server to a screaching halt and causing user connectivity problems for hours. I do not believe it has to do with the maximum number of processors setting due to the time that this happens, since there are only a couple users in the system. I am having trouble determining which DB is causing the problem.

I would like to schedule a job to either shrink the DB or alter the size of the DB during off-peak hours. or maybe you could suggest an alternative.

Since I have never attempted this sort of thing before, I need your help. Does it sound like I am on the right track? Is it possible to (DBCC) shrink or expand (ALTER) the database with users in the system? (This is a hospital open 24-7 and users are always in the system) Do you think I need to add an additional file to the database? If so, how's this done, cause the BOL is a little confusing to me about that. I need you to walk me through it, please.

Thanx in advance for your help.

• I'm not sure your error has to do with autogrow.

Please see:

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=816840

and

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=867878

As far as shrinking/expanding/adding database files, it would be helpful to have more information about the current condition of the files, growth patterns, disk space, disk availability, etc.