Error Handling

• Hi I am a beginner and have read up a little on error handling but I don't seem to have found what I want -

In the following sp - how do I get the code to continue to do EXEc('refreshview 'View2') when it has failed on EXEc('refreshview 'View3')  ie because view3 isn't there or any other reason it would fail on view3.

Thanks

CREATE PROCEDURE procRefresh2Views

@isql varchar(2000) = null,

@objname varchar(200) = null,

@intCount int = 0,

@Err int = 0,

@intCounter int = 0

AS

SELECT @isql = 'sp_refreshView' + ' ' + '''View3'''

exec(@isql)

SELECT @isql = 'sp_refreshView' + ' ' + '''View2'''

exec(@isql)

GO

• I think for what you want to do here, this is not really a question of handling the error.  What you want to do here is to check for the existance of the object prior to running the refresh. 

CREATE PROCEDURE procRefresh2Views

@isql varchar(2000) = null,

@objname varchar(200) = null,

@intCount int = 0,

@Err int = 0,

@intCounter int = 0

AS

SET @objname = 'view2'

SET @isql = 'IF EXISTS (SELECT * FROM dbo.sysobjects WHERE id = OBJECT_ID('+ @objName + ') AND OBJECTPROPERTY(id, ''IsView'') = 1) EXEC @intReturnValue = sp_refreshview ' + @objName

EXEC (@isql)

SET @objname = 'view3'

SET @isql = 'IF EXISTS (SELECT * FROM dbo.sysobjects WHERE id = OBJECT_ID('+ @objName + ') AND OBJECTPROPERTY(id, ''IsView'') = 1) EXEC @intReturnValue = sp_refreshview ' + @objName

EXEC (@isql)

GO

John Rowan

======================================================
    Forum Etiquette: How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help[/url] - by Jeff Moden

• On another note, you really do not need to be using dynamic SQL here.  I stayed with it for my example, but if you are passing in the object name as an input parameter, just stick with static SQL (unless I'm missing something here).

John Rowan

Forum Etiquette: How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help[/url] - by Jeff Moden

• Thanks -