ever take a salary cut to move into a field you wanted experience in?

• ive been working with sql server for 4 or so years from a support and admin point of view. im not a fulltime administrator, but i do a lot of the tasks a standard admin performs. I review new code, code fixes func specs etc so i have a rounded responsibility list.

Problem is i want to up my skillset and add some reporting services and analysis services.

Im studying in my own time and will be taking the relivant MS Exams to become certified. I know cirtification does not make up for experience and so to get experience i will have to move jobsl as there is no chance of this experience in my current role.

To get a reporting services/analysis services role with my limited experience I'l prob have to take a salary cut. In this climate im also afraid it will take a looong time to get back up to my current level if i do take a cut.

Has anyone here taken a cut in salary for the sake of experience, and if so, did it pay off or was it a mistake?

• Yes. When I moved to consulting (a year and a half ago) from a full time position. It was almost 6 months before my income matched monthly expenses and I'm still not bringing in what I was before the move.

Is it worth it? Well, the style of working suits me better, the variation in what I'm doing, the ability to chose when and where I work. As for the financial aspects, business looks like it's picking up this year, so we'll see how it goes.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • Yes. Twice. It paid off, both times. On one occasion, I was offered a job at the top of the advertised pay band and the company apologised for not being able to match my existing salary. That's always a nice boost to one's ego. 😉