select 'File2', 19 union all

select 'File2', 10 union all

select 'File3', 11 union all

select 'File3', 12 union all

select 'File3', 13 union all

select 'File3', 14 union all

select 'File4', 17

select * from @test-2

given this example (in reality it will end up being around 30k files), is there a simple (not ridiculously complicated) way to direct this single select into several files?

My first thought was cascading foreach loops, but that would take a crap load of time running, and as I'm new to the SSIS world, I'm kinda clueless on this.

Any thought appreciated

--
    Thiago Dantas
    @DantHimself

• Strange requirement!

Can you do it just once and then do a file copy to the others - rather than running the data transfer over and over again?

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• If you're doing this in the Data Flow (which you should), then you can use the Multicast component to make "copies" of the data flow - one in, two (or more) out - and send those to independent destinations.

Todd McDermid - SQL Server MVP, MCTS (SQL 08 BI), MCSD.Net
    My Blog - Dimension Merge SCD Component for SSIS - SSIS Community Tasks and Components

• tmcdermid (2/24/2011)

If you're doing this in the Data Flow (which you should), then you can use the Multicast component to make "copies" of the data flow - one in, two (or more) out - and send those to independent destinations.

sounds good, except I will need *many* destinations!

the way I see this, and please correct me if I'm wrong, is hardcoding the destinations, which is not possible.

@Phil

you mean, extracting the dataset to a single file and iterate it to generate other files? Not a bad idea really.

Any more ideas? Anyone?

--
    Thiago Dantas
    @DantHimself

• Pretty much what I meant.

Where are you getting the destinations from?