Find out Access Table Names via DTS

• I am needing to find out the names of all the tables in an Access database. The context is that user's will be uploading data and we will be importing into a temporary area and then analyzing them. So the table names and column names will not be known. I need to get a list of the table names (and preferrably column names as well) from any Access database.

Any help will be most appreciated.

Thanks,

Richard

• Dynamically add Access database as linked server and use sp_table_ex.

• THANKS!!!

That worked like a charm abd I appreciate the quick response.

I have a second question though. I am still new to a lot of this stuff, but how do I use the return of the sp_tables_ex? I can return it to my application and I know how to handle it there, but how do I get access to that recordset within the same procedure?

For example, I need to grab the first two column names from sp_columns_ex in order to do the processing I need to do.

Thanks,

Richard

• create table #T1

(table_cat sysname null,

table_schem sysname null,

table_name sysname,

table_type sysname,

remarks sysname null)

insert into #T1 exec sp_tables_ex 'PROFILES'

• Thanks once again! That really helped me out and nailed it for me.

Richard

• I am sorry to be bothersome, but I got it to work manually the way you described, but when I put it into a stored procedure it gave me the error "General Network Error. Check Your Documentation". Everything is all on one machine. I shouldn't be accessing the network at all.

Here is the code I am using:

--Create a temp table to hold

create table #Tables

(

table_cat sysname null,

table_name sysname,

table_type sysname,

remarks sysname null

)

set @Table = @SessionID + '_' + @File

EXEC sp_addlinkedserver

@server = @SessionID,

@provider = 'Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0',

@srvproduct = 'OLE DB Provider for Jet',

@datasrc = @FileName

--Create the authoriztion