Finding Within dates

• Hi 
         Im new to sql  and I have a date column created , I'm trying to find data within these time durations

If within 7 days
    If between 7-14 days 
    if over 14 days

how would i go about writing this ?

Many thanks

• DateColumn BETWEEN DATEADD(DAY-7, CAST(GETDATE() AS DATE)) AND GETDATE() --Would return rows where the DateColumn has a value 20-Jan-2017 to now INCLUSIVE

DateColumn BETWEEN DATEADD(DAY-14, CAST(GETDATE() AS DATE)) AND DATEADD(DAY-7, CAST(GETDATE()) AS DATE)) --Would return rows where the DateColumn has a value from 13-Jan-2017 to 20-Jan-2017 INCLUSIVE

DateColumn < DATEADD(DAY-14, CAST(GETDATE() AS DATE)) --Would rows where the DateColumn has a value before 13-Jan-2017

Note, there is an overlap on the first two. Depending on your requirements you can change the values.

I have also CAST GETDATE() as a date, as I have assumed that you want values from earlier in time 7 days ago. For example, it is 11:42 for me right now. If I did not cast GETDATE() to a date, the results that have a time prior to 11:42 on 20-Jan-2017 in the first statement would be excluded. That is because 20-Jan-2017 10:03 is 7 days, 1 hour and 39 minutes ago (which is more than 7 days ago).

If you column is a true DATE column, rather than DATETIME, then they would all be assumed to have a time value of 00:00:00.000 when compared to a DATETIME (which would have the same effect as above).

Thom~

Excuse my typos and sometimes awful grammar. My fingers work faster than my brain does.
    Larnu.uk

• Thom A - Friday, January 27, 2017 4:41 AM

DateColumn BETWEEN DATEADD(DAY-7, CAST(GETDATE() AS DATE) AND GETDATE() --Would return rows where the DateColumn has a value 20-Jan-2017 to now INCLUSIVE

DateColumn BETWEEN DATEADD(DAY-14, CAST(GETDATE() AS DATE) AND DATEADD(DAY-7, CAST(GETDATE() AS DATE) --Would return rows where the DateColumn has a value from 13-Jan-2017 to 20-Jan-2017 INCLUSIVE