Free alternative to Management Studio?

• Hi,

AS a SQL Server consultant, I have several clients who are moving their data to 2005.

Whenever I need to do admin stuff, maybe whip up some views for them or assist in fixing up their data if it's become corrupt due to user error (not SQL problems fortunately) I am becoming REALLY frustrated at the limitations of this new GUI.

I was so wonderfully comfortable with Enterprise Manager which did everything I needed it to.  Now I find I can't do many tasks as quickly as I could.  Things which might take me under a minute to complete now might take me 2 to 4 minutes do do.  2 examples.   i)  I want to edit a multi-line varchar field value, so I stretch the height of a row hoping ALL rows stretch to the same height, but now JUST the row I fiddled gets heightened.  I need to do each row now!  Minutes added to my job. : (    Then because the value is a multi-line with some carriage returns in the varchar field, the text used to wrap nicely in EM, but in MS it has unintelligble chars.  I need to copy & paste to Notepad, do my edits, then it doesn't paste back so I need to write a little query to update the value.  What used to be a direct edit in the table now isn't.      ii)   I used to be able to whip up a quick view, chuck in some criteria in the view designer and directly edit my values in the results pane.  In & out in seconds.  Now a view is read-only in the results pane.  This is my biggest beef.  I need to now chuck in my criteria, then find a unique key for the row I need to edit, paste into the criteria pane, remove the other tables then do my edit.  This might take me 2 to 3 minutes instead of a few seconds.