Front-end Integration (Newbie Question)

• A VERY newbie question :

I am coming from a MS Access background, and am used to develloping user-interfaces (forms and data access pages) within Access. I am making a career move up to MS SQL Server, and recently became certified (MCTS) in Sql Server 2005.

As part of my learning process, I am eager to begin experimenting with applications that will allow me to provide a front-end (web or app) interface to the databases I am working on. I have some experience with HTML, VB and C++, but not much.

I was hoping someone could reccomend something to get me started.

Thanks!

-Simon Doubt

• I would recommend that you become an expert in T-SQL.  While you can spend as much time as you want on the front-end coding, you will want as much of the data access to be handled via stored procedures and to be effective at creating quality, efficient stored procedures, you'll need to get to be an expert at T-SQL more so than the front end language.  I saw your other post regarding hourly rate for contractors.  If you expect someone to pay you $60 - $80 per hour, you don't want to get into the habit of giving your clients inefficient database code.  Read up on SSC articles on T-SQL, efficiency, search through the posts for RBAR and get some insight on SET based thinking versus procedural thinking.  Through out the idea of looping and cursors!!  There's much more to say than I have time/space, but hopefully this will get you started.

John Rowan

======================================================
    ======================================================
    Forum Etiquette: How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help[/url] - by Jeff Moden

• Thanks, John, for your reply. I appreciate your input.