Giving developers local admin access on their workstations

• I am a developer (SSRS/SSIS) and I recently got tired of having to complete a work order every time I wanted to change something on my local workstation (2012 eval install, developer edition install, various changes to config files, etc). I asked our systems administrator and was told it was too big of a security risk. I used to do server administration at a previous job so its not like I am going to hose my machine. I also have access to a local admin account on our PRODUCTION SSRS/SSIS server :blink:. Just curious what other people's opinions are. :Whistling:

• Just as long as the developer knows that if he hoses his system he is on is own, ensures that all required software is installed and running at all times (AV for one).

• Lynn Pettis (3/23/2012)

Just as long as the developer knows that if he hoses his system he is on is own, ensures that all required software is installed and running at all times (AV for one).

Yeah, i would agree with that statement. Also just for some background (or laughs, or horrors depending) our systems administrator is also our DBA and thinks its perfectly ok for our OLTP databases to be in simple recovery mode because "transaction log backups are not worth the storage cost". :sick:

• msmithson (3/23/2012)

Lynn Pettis (3/23/2012)

Just as long as the developer knows that if he hoses his system he is on is own, ensures that all required software is installed and running at all times (AV for one).

Yeah, i would agree with that statement. Also just for some background (or laughs, or horrors depending) our systems administrator is also our DBA and thinks its perfectly ok for our OLTP databases to be in simple recovery mode because "transaction log backups are not worth the storage cost". :sick:

How often are Full/Differential backups taken?

Should also ask, how big are your databases?

msmithson (3/23/2012)

Lynn Pettis (3/23/2012)