Good Argument for IT Director - Your thoughts...

• Hello:

I am pursuing this forum to seek advice from people out in the field.  I am currently writing up an argument for an IT Director where I work why I should be granted access to the SQL Server 2000 we have in-house. 

Currently, I am a software developer for this department that is part of a very big corporation.  Believe it or not, there IS NO DBA on the premises!  Yes, I can't believe it either.  I have taken a sort of an Administrator role in conjunction with my regular development duties.  I saw a need for some administrative tasks, since there was none implemented when I came on board! 

There are a few other developers here but they conduct absolutely NO administration of the SS2k.   I am afraid if the lack of administration goes any further, disaster is sure to occur. 

To make a very long story short, I would like to know some very good and sound arguments why someone, maybe I, should be granted access to the SQL Server.  Arguments like: access to the logs, being able to reboot the machine, analysis, etc., I believe are some.  I can keep on listing some more, but I am sure you all know what I am seeking.

Thus, without further, I would like some advice and further information from you, the experts on this initiative, that is, I feel, is of high importance: Why should someone have access to the SQL Server box with administrator rights, and not just remotely as a developer.

I look forward to your responses,

EB, MCP, MCAD

• I'd have to agree that not having anyone administer the SQL Server is a recipe for disaster. Despite it being easy to do, or relatively easy, you still need a DBA to perform work, watch the server and ensure that it is running well. This can be a sysadmin, a full time DBA, or a remote DBA, but it should be a DBA.