Having trouble setting up Database Mail

• I've never setup Database Mail before, so I am a newbie at this. I've enabled Database Mail through SQL Server Service Area Configuration. Then I defined a profile using the Database Mail wizard. (By the way, this is one question which I've got about the profile name. My name has embedded white space, like "SQL Mail". Is that OK, or is it a requirement that the profile have no embedded white space?)

Next I went to set up the email address, which is a new one with the university I work for. The SMTP settings don't use the default port 25, but I've made sure I'm using the correct port number and am using SSL. Then I went to test it, and I get this error:

The mail could not be sent to the recipients because of the mail server failure. (Sending Mail using Account 1 (2008-11-25T09:20:43). Exception Message: Cannot send mails to mail server. (The operation has timed out.).)

I referenced this SQL Tip to help me set this up, so I'm not sure what's wrong. I've done a search and found an article on MSDN saying that perhaps the email account's inbox was full. I've logged into the account and checked it, and it had only 1 email message in its inbox, and that was quite small, so that isn't the problem.

So, what's wrong?

Kindest Regards, Rod Connect with me on LinkedIn.

• I forgot to mention that I'm also using basic authentication instead of Windows authentication for the SMTP authentication, since it is reaching a SMTP server that isn't a part of our network (its the university's SMTP server; we don't have anything like MS Exchange running here).

• The part in the error message about a timeout makes me wonder if it's a network issue as opposed to an authentication issue.

Have you tried sending e-mail through that same account, from the server, using a different program (not SQL)?

- Gus "GSquared", RSVP, OODA, MAP, NMVP, FAQ, SAT, SQL, DNA, RNA, UOI, IOU, AM, PM, AD, BC, BCE, USA, UN, CF, ROFL, LOL, ETC