HELP!!!! Problem with finding overlapping timeframes ...

• Hey All,

I'm pretty new to SQL Server and, for some reason, I decided I could put together a database to handle our client services. The only problem is that these people want the thing to actually work. Go figure!

I have a need to check for overlapping time periods. So, if a Staffperson has these 5 records:

StaffID            ClientID          Date                TimeIn            TimeOut      

1                      69                    6/24/2004      8:30                13:00

1                      74                    6/24/2004      13:00              15:00

1                      86                    6/24/2004      8:30                15:00

1                      78                    6/24/2004      8:30                15:00

1                      50                    6/24/2004      8:30                15:00

Which can be represented like this:

0830-----------1300---1500

|------------------------|

|----------------|

|-------|

How can I group the records in a select statement so that I know all these records are overlapping?

I have a SP that is similar to this it takes the records and groups into a Temp Table:

INSERT #Temp(IDENT, GUID)

SELECT MAX(CAST(ServiceProvisionGUID AS VARCHAR(36)))

FROM dbo.ServiceProvision

GROUP BY StaffID, [Date], TimeIn, TimeOut, NumberClients

HAVING NumberClients <> 99999 --some records need ignored

AND [Date] BETWEEN @BDate AND @EDate

Then the SP loops through each record of the temp table. It takes the GUID from the temp table and uses it to pull information from the ServiceProvision Table into several variables. Each variable associated with the current record of the temp table starts with @NC_. The following code looks at the currentrecord of the temp table and attempts to count all the records that have an overlapping time frame:

SELECT @Count = Count(*)

FROM dbo.ServiceProvision SP

WHERE StaffID = @NC_STFID

AND [Date] = @NC_DATE

AND (