Help with variable table name in T-SQL

• I am trying to build a generic T-SQL that I can use to create work tables used for short projects. I am a programmer, not a DBA so please excuse some of my ignorance of T-SQL.

Here is my little script:

use sworks

go

DECLARE @temporary varchar(32)

SET @temporary = 'tq_old_lib_ids_counter'

IF EXISTS (SELECT * FROM sys.objects WHERE object_id = OBJECT_ID(N'[dbo].[@temporary]') AND type in (N'U'))

DROP TABLE [dbo].[@temporary]

go

--SELECT INTO a new, non-temporary table

SELECT TOP (100) PERCENT LIBID, COUNT(*) AS count

INTO [dbo].[@temporary]

FROM dbo.tq_old_lib_ids

GROUP BY LIBID

I am trying to create a table with the name tq_old_lib_ids_counter but the table created keeps coming out as @temporary. I need this table for a few days so I am not creating a temp table.

What am I doing wrong?

• First, due to the fact that you need the table for a few days, scrap the ideas of using a table variable and a local temp table which will go out of scope and disappear as soon as you close the connection you used to create them. Instead, create either an actual table, or a global temp table which is not dropped until you explicity drop it. Due to the fact that you want the table to be non-temporary, just make it a real table. Try this:

SELECT LIBID, COUNT(*) AS IDCount

INTO tq_old_lib_ids_counter

FROM dbo.tq_old_lib_ids

GROUP BY LIBID

This will create your table with all your data in it.

Seth Phelabaum

Consistency is only a virtue if you're not a screwup. 😉

Links: How to Post Sample Data[/url] :: Running Totals[/url] :: Tally Table[/url] :: Cross Tabs/Pivots[/url] :: String Concatenation[/url]

• It appears you are not using the variable [@temporary] properly in it's different contexts. When you are referencing it inside of a quoted string, it needs to be concatenated. Consider the following:

WRONG:

OBJECT_ID(N'[dbo].[@temporary]')

RIGHT:

OBJECT_ID(N'[dbo].[' + @temporary + ']')