How did good DBAs become good DBAs

• USE SQLServerCentralForums

GO

DECLARE @string VARCHAR(25)

SET @string = 'Hello World!'

SELECT @string

GO --GO SQL GO!

Wow that was nerdy. I really appreciate all the help I've been getting here. I've asked a lot of dumb questions and learned a lot. Like today I learned about the WITH (cte) and things I never knew existed (like cross apply).

Anyhow I've only been a DBA for 2.5 years. I've been doing it straight out of college. For the past years I been trying to cram in my head as much as I could about SQL Server and T-SQL. Ever since college I wanted to become a DBA and I've been lucky to do that straight out of college.

Now that I am a DBA, I have a desire to be a good DBA. I don't have much experience but I was wondering if you guys can point me to the right direction. I'm almost done with my MCITP DBA 2005 but I've came to realize certs can only help you go so far. And a lot of the materiel you can forget easily if your work environment is limited to a few configurations. If you were me or a young DBA what would you do or what kind of suggestions could you give me. I really have this desire in me and I can't stop thinking about it. Even my girl friend is jealous of SQL :w00t:

THANKS!!! 😀

• I have wide and diverse programming experience in a couple languages and spent a LOT of time solving challenges in SQL. I have been dealing with SQL server since, well really 1994. I had a point in 1999 where I decided that I not only enjoyed working on the data side more but I was good at it and never looked back. And solving those challenges only made me better. Also don't be afraid to not have the answer.. The smartest people I know will admit that they don't know instead of trying to buffalo me.