How do I convert a negative integer (int) field into a positive?

• I admit to being a complete novice when it comes to SQL Server. Here's the situation. I use Autodesk Revit 2010 64bit for design work, and it can export an ODBC database through SQL Server. For that reason, I installed SQL Server Express 2008. I have just one problem. A Yes/No field in Revit generates a 1 or 0. When the exported database is loaded into Access, everything is fine but if I try to create a check box to represent the Yes/No value from Revit, Access uses a -1 for yes. When a database updated in Access is imported back into Revit, Revit can't see the Yes values defined in Access.

Since the transfer is happening through SQL Server, is it possible to have SQL Server modify the integer value to change the -1 to 1?

Access will recognize 1 as yes in the check boxes, but if you click the box to change it to no and then back to yes, it replaces the 1 with -1.

• You can use the function ABS ( numeric_expression ) to make any negative number positive.

So for example, if the SQL query is something like

SELECT column1, integerColumn FROM table1

just change it to

SELECT column1, ABS(integerColumn) FROM table1

-Jen M

MidnightDBA.com

• Thank you for the quick response. I did come across that, but I'm not sure where to apply it. I've been trying to edit the database setup through SQL Managment Studio 2008, but I am completely new to this.

Can you tell me where I can apply that modifier?

• You can update the data in the column

UPDATE <TableName>

SET <ColumnName> = ABS(<ColumnName>)

Read the SQL Books Online for all the database and function syntax.

I would highly recommend that you use SSMS to do all the database work, not all these other 3rd party apps. SSMS has many wonderful tools built in for all this

Andrew SQLDBA

• jcarney 24614 (2/24/2010)