How do I retrieve records between a date range?

• Hi guys,

I'm new to this and new to SQL Express. 

I have a table containing many customer records, including the date they joined.  The date column is set as a varchar(20) field. 

I need to extract customers who joined using a date range.

I've looked at the Convert method but I'm getting errors:

My syntax is:

SELECT * FROM customers WHERE date >= CONVERT(datetime,'13/06/2006',103) AND date <= CONVERT(datetime,'14/06/2006',103)

The error is:

The conversion of a char data type to a datetime data type resulted in an out-of-range datetime value.

The date field in the Customer Table is in dd/MM/yyyy format

I've tried many options including:

SELECT * FROM customers WHERE date >= CONVERT(datetime,'13/06/2006',3) AND date <= CONVERT(datetime,'14/06/2006',3)

SELECT * FROM customers WHERE date >= CONVERT(datetime,13/06/2006,3) AND date <= CONVERT(datetime,14/06/2006,3)

SELECT * FROM customers WHERE date >= CONVERT(datetime,'13/06/06',3) AND date <= CONVERT(datetime,'14/06/06',3)

If anyone can help then that would be fantastic.

Thanks

• You don't have to convert the data. To get all of the records for the 13th and 14th of June, use the following code

where Date >= 13/06/2006 and Date < 15/6/2006

Don't use BETWEEN, it can give incorrect results.

Cheers,

Diane

• the error indicates that it's attempting to use mm/dd/yyyy date format - possibly due to your login set to English rather than british, or dateformat settings

try

where Date >= '06/13/2006' and Date < '06/15/2006'

MVDBA

• Thanks both Diane and Mike but both of your suggestions failed.

Even if I simply do "...where Date >= '06/13/2006' it returns 22000 records with dates of 19/01/2001 etc.

I've checked my regional settings and the date is in the correct "dd/MM/yyyy" format. 

Where to now ? I'm wondering if the issue is spesific to SQL Express ? As mentioned the field is a varchar(40) in the DB table.

GG