How Do You Pass input parameters to a Stored Procedure Using an ASP Input Screen?

• I am a newbie to SQL and ASP programming. I want to create an ASP program that will allow users to input two pieces of data

into an SQL database from Internet Explorer.

My first program takes the two pieces of information and assigns them temporary variable names (Firstname) (LastName)

My second program needs to be able to call a stored procedure that will take the temporary variables and insert them into a new row in a table.

Here is my connectivity code in ASP:

<%

' Set up the DB Connection and the Recordset

Set Cm = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Command")

Set Rs = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.RecordSet")

Cm.ActiveConnection = "Driver={SQL Server};Server=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx;Database=WOSC"

Here is my SQL code in ASP

' Set up the Table 

sSQL = "EXEC prAdditem @Firstname @Lastname"

Cm.CommandText = sSQL

Cm.CommandType = 1

Set Rs = Cm.Execute

%>

My Stored Procedure (prAdditem) is:

CREATE  PROCEDURE prAddItem  (@Firstname nvarchar, @LastName nvarchar) AS

INSERT INTO WOCS.dbo.Students (Firstname, Lastname) VALUES ('"& @Firstname @Lastname"')

Can someone help me out?

• I don't have time right now to look up the actual syntax but what you need to do is use the "Parameters" collection and add it to the command object.

Gary Johnson
    Microsoft Natural Language Group
    DBA, Sr. DB Engineer

This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights. The opinions expressed in this post are my own and may not reflect that of my employer.

• Why the recordset object?  It doesn't appear your SP returns any records to it?  I would just use the Command Object and do as Gary has suggested and use the Parameters Collection of the command object.

Plus you get an added bonus of a little more security if you set your command object to be a CommandType of Stored Procedure rather than the dynamic SQL that you currently have.