How to get into SQL or network administration? Total newbie needing advice!

• I was hoping to get some advice from actually people who work in programming and SQL database management. I got my bachelor's degree in journalism (big mistake) in 2007. Now I want to go back to school and one thought that has stuck with me is something in database or network administration or software programming. I'm curious, what do I need to do if I wanted to move into a computer-related field?

Can I go get a masters in this stuff, or are there undergrad requirements I won't meet? I have dabbled in stuff like HTML, CSS, flash, javascript and visual basic, but I am far from a computer whiz -- I really don't know exactly what SQL is. Ha! How do I break into this field? What is the work like for what you do -- the hours, the pay, etc.? Is it very difficult? Do you have any freedom/flexibility?

It's this or law school, but I am scared because everyone says there are more law school graduates than actual lawyer jobs. I also hear the hours of an attorney are miserable. Anything in IT seems to have a good future ahead, but I am awful at math and not sure what sort of education I need. I'd really appreciate any help!

P.S.: I posted this already in the wrong spot, sorry about that.

• To answer your questions would vary from school to school and employer to employer. What are the hours like - depends on how well you do your job and how much you care about your responsibilities. There can be many times where a 30-40 hour day are necessary to get the job done.

There is a resource that can be quite helpful for you to peruse.

Exceptional DBA EBook Download

Jason...AKA CirqueDeSQLeil
    Learn Extended Events

• Try your local community colleges for cheap classes in:

- MS Access to see if you can think like a DBA or DB developer

- Intro to programming (VB, Java) to see if you can think like a programmer