How to name a column the same name of a tablename

• Hi newbie here, first let me say this I am not asking you to do my homework..So please don't make that statement. I have spent near 11 hours trying to figure this one thing out and can't. Basically I need to name make the name of a column the same as the name of a table from the result of a sql query.. here is the assignment question below..I can't figure out how to get the name of the table to be inputed as the column name..

Write a script that uses dynamic SQL to return a single column that represents the number of rows in the first table in the current database. The script should automatically choose the table that appears first alphabetically, and it should exclude tables named dtproperties and sysdiagrams. [highlight=#ffff11]Name the column CountOfTable, where Table is the chosen table name.[/highlight]

Hint: Use the sys.tables catalog view.

I can figure out the rest. and actually have alredy done it, but i cannot figure out how to do the part that is highlighted above. I looked at lots of things on google to figure it out but no luck..Can some just give me some directlon or an example.. Thank you.

• You can use system procedure:

sp_rename

to rename a column. The general format is like this:

EXEC sp_rename 'table_name.existing_column_name', 'new_column_name', 'COLUMN'

SQL DBA,SQL Server MVP(07, 08, 09) "Money can't buy you happiness." Maybe so, but it can make your unhappiness a LOT more comfortable!

• Can you post what you have so far please? It's not actually hard to do the highlighted portion, but easier to add to your existing code than write from scratch.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • ScottPletcher (10/23/2014)

You can use system procedure:

sp_rename