How to read data from file (not well formatted) with ssis

• Hello All,

could you please assist me how can i read this attched file data to the sql server table

i need to load this text file data to sql table using ssis, (the file provider cannot change the format or structure)

here actual row delimiter is ; (some rows split into two rows) and column delimiter is nothing seems to be a single space

here what i am thinking is (the possible ways could be),

1) through script task add some column delimiter (such as , or - or . or some thing like) then make everuthing record as a single row(no splits)

if i am planning on right way please tell me some samples how to read each line and how to add delimiter to it

or give me is there other easy ways to do this kind of scrap

Please Help me

Greatful to you alll

thanks in advance

asita

• I am a programmer first, so I would think of writing a file parsing routine in a .Net language (VB/C#) and then reference the library to retrieve the parsed resultset in SSIS package and put the data in the database tables.

Now that I've written the above sentence, I think it should be doable through a script task too.

1.) Create a collection with each item containing the entire row with all values in ""

2.) Iterate through the collection and then get each individual items in another collection

3.) Remove the quotes and you have your value.

Does this make sense?

• Hello Rjn,

Thanks for your reply, i know program a little bit , but not my main stream so could you please give some sample or some example or could you please direct me for any sample links

please

Thanks in advance

asita

• please share any ideas

please

thanks

asita

• asita (5/17/2010)

please share any ideas

please

thanks

asita