How to run 2 queries every month

• I am a Newbi DBA and I manage a db that requires that i run two update queries around the first of every month. I have both queries saved (a senior dba wrote them) and all i do is copy and paste the queries one at at time into a query window and run them. The only glitch is that for both i have to add the the current Period (Period = YYYYMM example for December 2010 it would be 201012) to the query before i run it.

Is there a way i can configure it so that i can run something and a box would pop up asking for the period, we input the period and click ok and then the queries run. I beleive i would need a Stored Procedure, but not sure and i dont know how to get the Period in.

I could grab the period from the PERIOD table which alway has the most current PERIOD as the last record. In other words it would be Current period = 201012.

I can provide you the full query if needed.

Please let me know

Jeff

• Don't think we'll need the full query for this Jay.

You've got a two step process here that you're dealing with. First, you want to get rid of the need for the messagebox to enter in the value. You definately want to connect off the table with your current period since it's already available. This will make your life much easier.

The second piece you're looking for to do scheduling is SQL Agent. This will allow you to create a job with a task for Execute SQL. In there, put the call to your procedures, and set it up to run when you need it to.

- Craig Farrell

Never stop learning, even if it hurts. Ego bruises are practically mandatory as you learn unless you've never risked enough to make a mistake.

For better assistance in answering your questions[/url] | Forum Netiquette
    For index/tuning help, follow these directions.[/url] |Tally Tables[/url]

Twitter: @AnyWayDBA

• Thanks for your reply