how to Select getdate () in yyyy/M format ?

• I want to select getdate() in the format yyyy/M. i tried to write a query as SELECT FORMAT(GETDATE(),'yyyy/M') but it is giving me error.I am a beginner in sql. how do i achieve yyyy/m format if there is only single digit month. eg. the query should give 2016/1 when there is only one digit month(it should not give 2016/01) and should give 2016/10 when the month is of two digits

• sushantkatte (1/13/2016)

I want to select getdate() in the format yyyy/M. i tried to write a query as SELECT FORMAT(GETDATE(),'yyyy/M') but it is giving me error.I am a beginner in sql. how do i achieve yyyy/m format if there is only single digit month. eg. the query should give 2016/1 when there is only one digit month(it should not give 2016/01) and should give 2016/10 when the month is of two digits

Works fine for me:

declare @date date;

set @date = '2015-01-06';

select FORMAT(@date,'yyyy/M'); -- yields 2015/1

set @date = '2015-10-06';

select FORMAT(@date,'yyyy/M'); -- yields 2015/10

What was the error you received?

Be careful anyway, FORMAT is very slow when compared to other date functions. CONVERT does not contain a style option for the format you need but even some basic string-building might be a better performing option.

There are no special teachers of virtue, because virtue is taught by the whole community.
    --Plato

• SELECT CONVERT(nvarchar(6), GETDATE(), 112)

• johnwalker10 (1/13/2016)

SELECT CONVERT(nvarchar(6), GETDATE(), 112)

That returns 201601 for days in January. The OP wants 2016/1 for January and 2016/10 for October. There is no style offered by CONVERT for that format.

There are no special teachers of virtue, because virtue is taught by the whole community.
    --Plato

• sushantkatte (1/13/2016)