I am trying to normalize this table but I am not sure if I'm on the right track

• I'm working on normalizing the following table:

Correspondance_Received_with_Types

I'm completely new to data normalization. Although I've read up on 1NF, 2NF and 3NF I'm not that confident in doing it completely on my own yet. I did however stumble across Table Analyzer in Access and I thought I'd give it a go. Here is the outcome after using 'ticket number' as a primary key.

Table Analyzer

How accurate is this? and is there a similar tool in SSMS (for example) or elsewhere that can perform this task better?.

Thanks in advance.

• This topic was modified 2 years ago by  Mr_X.
  • I've had decades of experience doing data modeling, but I have no clue for your tables.  You haven't described any of the data.

Normalization deals with a logical design, containing "entities" and "attributes" (not "tables" and "columns").

"Tables" and "columns" only come later when you convert the logical data model to a physical data model.

How are we supposed to know what CPZ means in your model?

SQL DBA,SQL Server MVP(07, 08, 09) "Money can't buy you happiness." Maybe so, but it can make your unhappiness a LOT more comfortable!

• You're right I should have given more detailed. Below please find attached some more information I've included. Please note, its a struggle getting all the information as I need to go through so many middle people. But this is what I have so far:

Correspondence able

Please let me know if there is any additional information required. Also when normalizing tables to up to 3NF is there multiple variants that tables could be arranged or is there usually only one correct outcome?.

Thanks in advance.

• This reply was modified 2 years ago by  Mr_X.
  • CPZ Name & CPZ Code appear to be related. Is it one-to-one? (in which case they should be in a lookup table, and only reference CPZ Code in other tables)