IF - Then , Yes or No Statement

• I am a novice, and I need to dupicate a formula used in Access in a Stored Procedure of our Database. The Access Column reads as : LINA:IIF([Start Time]>[Login Time],"No","Yes"). How do I write this for a Stored procedure? The Access frontend will not let me enter it in the Column Name as given above. All I get is the The above Code repeated in the column called LINA.

Appreciate any Help.

Pete

• pete.trudell (7/29/2008)

I am a novice, and I need to dupicate a formula used in Access in a Stored Procedure of our Database. The Access Column reads as : LINA:IIF([Start Time]>[Login Time],"No","Yes"). How do I write this for a Stored procedure? The Access frontend will not let me enter it in the Column Name as given above. All I get is the The above Code repeated in the column called LINA.

Appreciate any Help.

Pete

The TSQL equivalent of an Immediate IF is a CASE:

CASE WHEN [Start Time] > [Login Time] THEN "No" ELSE "Yes" END

“Write the query the simplest way. If through testing it becomes clear that the performance is inadequate, consider alternative query forms.” - Gail Shaw

For fast, accurate and documented assistance in answering your questions, please read this article.
    Understanding and using APPLY, (I) and (II) Paul White
    Hidden RBAR: Triangular Joins / The "Numbers" or "Tally" Table: What it is and how it replaces a loop Jeff Moden

• Thank You , that worked fine. Now How do I refer to that Alias (and others) in other columns I create? Stored Procedures doesn't like to refer to anything but Table Columns.

Thanks Pete

PS: Is there a general Basic Stored Procedures White Paper or Reference available.

• I'm not entirely sure what you mean...but you would usually apply an alias to a CASE construct in a SELECT in one of two ways:

SELECT NewColumnName = CASE WHEN [Start Time] > [Login Time] THEN "No" ELSE "Yes" END, ...

or