Indexing and trimming options for very large heap table

• I am pretty new to this, so my apologies for any SQL-related misstatements and confusions.

I have inherited an application that dumps events into a table with the following structure:

recordid (bigint, not null)
    productid (int, null)
    productsubid (int, null)
    actionid (int, null)
    datetime (datetime, null)
    userdn (varchar(255), null)
    data1 (varchar(2300), null)
    data2 (varchar(2300), null)
    data3 (varchar(2300), null)
    useragent (varchar(500), null)
    langcode (varchar(50), null)
    countrycode (varchar(50), null)
    clienthost (varchar(100), null)

The table was set up as a heap; recordid is an auto-increment identity column. Usage of the application has grown over the past few years, but appears to be relatively settled. I came in to my current position with the database at roughly 80 GB / 250 million rows in size, with around 300k-400k events written per day for a user base of roughly 40k.

As best as I can tell, somewhere between 120 and 200 million rows, the reports that query the table became unusable, and started to cause problems with the host server (they have currently been made inaccessible for this reason). However, even the size of the table itself has been pointed to by the application vendor as a possible culprit for causing issues with the application (specifically, TCP behavior -- the application is load-balanced, and occasionally one of the web servers will see a flood of thousands of connections getting stuck in CLOSE_WAIT status, making that server unresponsive and yet not appear offline to prevent the load-balancer from establishing new connections).