Insert trigger causing errors in VB6 app.

• I have had no previous experience with triggers, and am having trouble getting this to function.

On Orders table, Id is primary key, I was asked to create an means of tracking all changes to 1 specific field, PkgCodeID.

I created a table:

CREATE TABLE [OrdersAudit] (

[EditID] [int] IDENTITY (1, 1) NOT NULL ,

[OrderID] [varchar] (31) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NOT NULL ,

[PkgCodeIDOrig] [varchar] (20) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NULL ,

[PkgCodeIDNew] [varchar] (20) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NULL ,

[EditCode] [char] (1) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NULL ,

[EditDate] [datetime] NOT NULL ,

[ModifiedBy] [varchar] (80) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NULL ,

CONSTRAINT [PK_OrdersAudit] PRIMARY KEY  CLUSTERED

(

[EditID]

&nbsp  ON [PRIMARY]

) ON [PRIMARY]

Right now, I am just trying to get the insert trigger to work. If I can get it working, I will add the update and delete to the trigger.

The following worked fine before I added the commented Where clause at the end:

CREATE TRIGGER dbo.Orders_tri ON Orders FOR INSERT

AS

INSERT dbo.OrdersAudit

SELECT

ID

, ''

, PkgCodeID

, 'I'

, getdate()

, suser_sname()

FROM inserted i

--WHERE i.PkgCodeID IS NOT NULL

RETURN

Since the app that adds most of the records seems to add the record first then updates the audited field later, Nearly all of the inserts were null. When I added the Where clause, the VB6 app began returning the following error: Row cannot be located for updating. Some values may have been changed since it was last read. When I tried it on a test table, I could go in and manually do inserts and updates and it worked as expected.

Any thoughts as to why this might be happening?

• How are you calling this from VB ? Are you trying to open a recordset on the result, are you exec'ing an 'INSERT ....' SQL statement, or calling a stored procedure ?