Inserting VBA Procedure into CSV Files Using SSIS

• Hi to all you SSIS gurus out there. I am a complete newbie with SSIS and I need assistance with opening multiple .csv files in a folder and then adding a procedure to the file to change and add headers to transform the data for loading into our database. Can someone point me in a general way to do this? The procedure is not written but I am fairly fluent with Excel VBA and I would like to add a VBA procedure to each and every file. Is this possible?

Regards:
    Mordred
    Keep on Coding in the Free World

• I am not sure if this is what you're asking, but it sounds like you would like to add a VBA Macro to each csv file that will fire when each file is opened in Excel? Is that a correct assessment of your question?

Stepping back for a second your question seems to be about standardizing the file layouts so they are all consistent. Is the end goal to simply load the files into a database, or rather to prepare them for use by end-users in Excel?

There are no special teachers of virtue, because virtue is taught by the whole community.
    --Plato

• Hi opc.three,

First off, thanks for the reply and yes you are right, I want to add a VBA macro to each csv file that will fire when opened. And yes, I want to standardize file layouts to load them into a database. Our database adds a mnemonic (per user requirement) that does not exist with the original source files so I have to somehow transform the source data to match the table designs that I have.

I know that I can use the for loop container but I am not familiar enough with this all yet. I was hoping to formally learn SSIS and BIDS but unfortunately the company I work for doesn't have the $$ in our department budget so I am on my own. I'm awaiting a book but I don't know how good it will be until I get it. I am eager to learn though.