inserts and updates only

• hi,

this is my first post. i am sorry if this is a stupid question.

i have a set of tables on seperate servers that need to receive immediate updates and inserts, but not deletes. in other words i only need to append new data or data that has been changed, not deleted. is this possible with transactional replication or is there a better way of doing this (i.e. setting up manual triggers, eeek) ?

thanks so much for your uber admin insight.

Chad
  • I'm not the replication expert, but I had a similar situation years ago in v6.5. I used a trigger to move the inserts and updates to a separate table. Then I replicated that table to the other server.

• My approach would be different in that I would continue to use the replication stored procedures on the subscriber server, but I would edit the delete stored procs to take no action on the subscriber. I've never done this before, but I believe that it is entirely possible. This would make the most sense for me, as replication would continue to work, except that the deletes would not be processed on the subscriber.

The only thing you;d have to remember to do is re-edit the delete stored procs in the event that you have to regenerate the replication stored procs on the subscriber.

Hope this helps.

"See how deep the rabbit hole goes..."

• That is a creative idea morpheuz. I had the same idea before this post. Now that another DBA brought it up I decided to test it. Here's what I did:

- Created a Transactional Publication w/ immediate updating.

- Publication Properties > Articles > Table Article Properties > Commands > Verified 3 boxes are checked to replace INSERT, UPDATE, DELETE commands with stored procs.

- Commented out the code in the UPDATE and DELETE procs on the subscriber DB and added a simple statement (SELECT @@Version).

- Inserted some data into the published table and monitor Log Reader Agent to ensure no errors occur.