FR_VTracking table also contains the TransmissionID as part of it's

primary key and it contains about 35 millions rows of data.  These two

tables are frequently joined on TransmissionID (FR_Sessions is the

parent).  The TransmissionID column is used primarily for joins and is

not typically displayed.

We need to change the TransmissionID data type from int to

char(7), and I had a few questions:

1) Would this introduce significant performance degradation?  I have

read that char keys/indexes are slower than int/numeric.

2) Are there collation options (or any other optimizations) that we

could use to minimize the performance hit of the char(7)...if so which

ones?

I am a software architect by trade, not a database guru, so please go

easy on my if I overlooked something obvious

Any suggestions or information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Tim

-------------------

CREATE TABLE [FR_Sessions] (

[TransmissionID] [int] IDENTITY (1, 1) NOT NULL ,

[PTUID] [varchar] (10) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NOT NULL ,

[PortNum] [numeric](6, 0) NOT NULL CONSTRAINT [DF_FR_Sessions_PortNum]

DEFAULT (0),

[CloseStatus] [varchar] (20) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NULL

[RecvBytes] [int] NULL ,

[SendBytes] [int] NULL ,

[EndDT] [datetime] NULL CONSTRAINT [DF_FR_Sessions_EndDT] DEFAULT

(getutcdate()),

[LocalEndDT] [datetime] NULL ,

[TotalTime] [int] NULL ,

[OffenderID] [numeric](9, 0) NULL ,

[UploadStatus] [char] (1) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NOT

NULL CONSTRAINT [DF_FR_Sessions_UploadStatus] DEFAULT ('N'),

[SchedBatchID] [numeric](18, 0) NULL ,

[SWVersion] [varchar] (10) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NULL ,

[DLST] [bit] NULL ,

[TZO] [smallint] NULL ,

[Processed] [bit] NOT NULL CONSTRAINT [DF_FR_Sessions_Processed]

DEFAULT (0),

[CallerID] [varchar] (13) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NULL ,

[PeerIP] [varchar] (16) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NULL ,