Is the following possible

• I'm pretty new to this, so sorry if this is a silly question.

I'm querying 2 tables and have joined a field in each. The join property is

Include ALL records from 'qryUC' and only those records from 'tblAAA

where the joined fields are equal.

However, what I really want, instead of equal is instr(field in qryUC, field in tblAAA) > 0.

• It will give more light if you post the query also.

• Sure, thanks. But it's still being designed (badly!)

SELECT qryUC.Serial, qryUC.Title, qryUC.Artist, qryUC.Lyrics

FROM qryUC INNER JOIN tblAAA ON qryUC.Serial = tblAAA.Prefix

WHERE (((qryUC.Lyrics) Like "*climb*"));

So it's where instr(qryUC.Serial,tblAAA.Prefix) > 0.

I'm not even sure if I should have the join.

• From what I understand.....I think you are looking for a Left Outer Join.

I recently saw this very good explanation on JOINS. I think you should check the following link...you might find it very helpful:

Introduction to JOINs[/url]

Vinu Vijayan

For better and faster solutions please check..."How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help" - Jeff Moden[/url] 😉

• Hi Vinu, I had a look but its a little too advanced for me.

Where has has, e.g.

Select *

From Table1 t1

LEFT OUTER JOIN Table2 t2

ON t1.Col1 = t2.Col2

What are the table names and field names? From what I know (and looking at the last line)

t1 and t2 are table names and Col1 and Col2 are fields names. Is that right?

So what is 'table1" and 'Table2" and the significance of the space after the name ?

Thanks.

• kirkm 55368 (5/7/2012)

Hi Vinu, I had a look but its a little too advanced for me.

Where has has, e.g.

Select *

From Table1 t1

ON t1.Col1 = t2.Col2

What are the table names and field names? From what I know (and looking at the last line)

So what is 'table1" and 'Table2" and the significance of the space after the name ?

Thanks.