Is there a "tables collection" in T-SQL?

• I'm not even sure how to ask this question. I'm an ASP.Net/C# developer who uses Management Studio to noodle around in our SQL Server databases, but I'm still a rookie in SQL. Please bear with me.

We have a database with just over 15 billion rows (really) (telecom messaging records). The rows are scattered across about 2500 tables, each with identical schemas. The table names are dynamic, as new data comes in the front and goes out the back - we keep a rolling 7-days.

I'd like to submit a SQL statement to go against ALL the tables, not just one. In C# I'd get a collection of table names, then FOREACH through the collection and union the results. But I don't know how to do it in SQL.

Here is an example:

SELECT * FROM Table0001 WHERE ProtocolName = 'ISUP'

UNION

SELECT * FROM Table0002 WHERE ProtocolName = 'ISUP'

UNION

SELECT * FROM Table2500 WHERE ProtocolName = 'ISUP';

Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance,

Brad

• SELECT CASE WHEN ROW_NUMBER() OVER (ORDER BY object_id) > 1 THEN 'UNION ALL ' ELSE '' END +

'SELECT * FROM ' + NAME + ' WHERE PROTOCOLNAME = ''ISUP''' FROM SYS.TABLES

Run this and copy the results to a new window and run that.

Converting oxygen into carbon dioxide, since 1955.
  • SELECT CASE WHEN ROW_NUMBER() OVER (ORDER BY object_id) > 1 THEN 'UNION ALL ' ELSE '' END +

'SELECT * FROM ' + '[' + sc.name + '].[' + st.NAME + '] WHERE PROTOCOLNAME = ''ISUP''' FROM SYS.TABLES ST

INNER JOIN SYS.SCHEMAS SC ON ST.schema_id = SC.schema_id

Made a little amendment to Steve's code to add the schema (just in case it needs it) and to put it round square tags in case the table name doesn't follow proper naming conventions.

http://sqlvince.blogspot.com/[/url]

• You may also need to filter with a WHERE clause on the table name (WHERE name like '%XYZ%') or whatever filter you might need.