Keeping Engaged

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Keeping Engaged

• You looking for a new job then Steve 🙂

• I was at one position in one company from 1992 to 2002.

After that I am on other position in other company. The company was renamed, but it's that same one. Our product was renamed, but it's that same one. My work is sometimes boring, but I don't want to change it just now.

See, understand, learn, try, use efficient
    © Dr.Plch

• I have been working for the same company since I graduated from college in 1985 in IT. I have moved up from Computer Operator to the Database Admin group starting working with Datacom and DB2 in 1993. In 1996 we got our first SQL Server running on NT 3.5 SQL Server 6.0 and I have been a SQL Server DBA here ever since. We now have hundreds of prod dbs on 40+ servers.

• I don't expect to ever work anywhere for ten years, but maybe I'll be surprised, who knows? As for the 'make work fun' bit, I think everyone (at least the 'everyone' I've encountered) misses the point, you're not supposed to screw off and have a mini-golf tournament in the middle of the day, wasting time and making everyone's deadlines that much closer. You're supposed to find ways to reward the daily, boring, grinding work by creating fun incentives to get it done more efficiently, making a game out of it so that it becomes less boring, rewarding the 'boring' behaviour so that people don't mind it so much, etc. "Whistle while you work", to quote some short guys I saw in a movie once.

---------------------------------------------------------
    How best to post your question[/url]
    How to post performance problems[/url]
    Tally Table:What it is and how it replaces a loop[/url]

"stewsterl 80804 (10/16/2009)I guess when you stop and try to understand the solution provided you not only learn, but save yourself some headaches when you need to make any slight changes."