Least Privilege Account

• Hi,

I have an asp.net site with sql 2008 R2 backend. The site is still in the development stage, but I want to implement a least privilege account sooner rather than later. The site uses forms authentication.

I have just been using the sa account for everything so far. How do I go about setting up a least priv account? Do I add a new Login from the security menu in the management studio? If so, what Server Roles, User Mappings/Database role memberships should be set?

Also, should I consider encrypting columns or tables with sensitive information?

How do I go about encrypting tables, columns, or the entire DB?

I'm pretty new to all this, any security advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

• Wow, that is quite a set of questions.

And an entire design job.

First using sa at ALL is a bad idea. I recommend switching to using windows logins for your primary access. Also the sa password should be long and strong.

Many of your questions are covered in books online.

Forms authentication doesn't really define SQL access, how are usernames/passwords authenticated? AD? SQL?

To add a login you do it from the Security, then logins area. When you add a login you can chose SQL or windows. From your app it will probably be SQL. Use a long and strong password. Don't give it ANY server rights or any database level rights. DO select your database which gives it the ability to get into that database.

You should be granting rights to roles and not specific logins.

Your code should grant EXEC rights to sprocs to those roles.

Direct access to tables or views from the front-end should not be allowed, views *maybe* tables NO.

Define sensitive.. Many people over-define it. I rarely recommend encrypting an entire database, specific columns usually are more than sufficient, but you need to think about your goals with this level of protection and who you are protecting the data from.

CEWII

• Hi Elliott,