LOG SHIPPING

• I am currently studying for my SQL server exams. I am currently going though McGraw Hill.MCITPDatabase.Developer.All.in.One.Exam.Guide. I am currently doing an exercise on log shipping. I have created 2 instances of SQL Server on my home pc. I have set up 2 folders called LogPrimary and Log Secondary. LogPrimary is the folder for the primary database back up and LogSecondary is folder where the back up is restored to. I have shared both folders giving permissions to everyone and the user group. When I click ok to begin log shipping the primary database is backed up fine. Then an error fires from sql management studio saying the following:

Server: Msg 3201, Level 16, State 2, Line 1

Cannot open backup device 'C:\LogPrimary\AWLogShipping.bak'.

I am currently using SQL server 2005 Evaluation edition. Could anybody give some info on why this is happening and a possible resolution.

• eseosaoregie (10/28/2008)

I am currently studying for my SQL server exams. I am currently going though McGraw Hill.MCITPDatabase.Developer.All.in.One.Exam.Guide. I am currently doing an exercise on log shipping. I have created 2 instances of SQL Server on my home pc. I have set up 2 folders called LogPrimary and Log Secondary. LogPrimary is the folder for the primary database back up and LogSecondary is folder where the back up is restored to. I have shared both folders giving permissions to everyone and the user group. When I click ok to begin log shipping the primary database is backed up fine. Then an error fires from sql management studio saying the following:

Server: Msg 3201, Level 16, State 2, Line 1

Cannot open backup device 'C:\LogPrimary\AWLogShipping.bak'.

I am currently using SQL server 2005 Evaluation edition. Could anybody give some info on why this is happening and a possible resolution.

It could be permissions related (that's my first instinct).