long running stmt, cpu 100%

• Hi,

I have a long running sql Statement.

It joins lots of data and writes the result into new table.

I studied the query plan and in my opinion there are indizes used where it's useful, but there are also full table scans and there is a hash join.

the cpu is on 100% when the statement is running. Is it normal that one statement grabs all power of the cpu? Are there obvious things I should check in the db configuration?

Thank you,

Tobias

• It's not normal for a single procedure to take all the resources, no. But if the query is really poorly written or designed, it certainly could happen.

I'd make sure you have enough memory on the server. How much is that you ask? As much as you can possibly get would be my response. But it really depends on the needs of the system, the number of users, connections, amount of data, number of transactions, etc. Monitor the existing system. Except for this bad query, what is the standard average CPU load?

As to this query, if it's really doing table scans, and hash joins, that might explain it. Post the execution plan. There may be other issues with it as well. Lots of times people see an Index Scan or a Clustered Index Scan and assume that "hey, it's using an index, so everything is fine" But that can be as costly to the server as a table scan, more so depending on the process.

Also, you're reading from a bunch of tables to write into one table. Why? This is frequently a sign of rbar style processing.

----------------------------------------------------The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood... Theodore RooseveltThe Scary DBAAuthor of: SQL Server 2017 Query Performance Tuning, 5th Edition and SQL Server Execution Plans, 3rd EditionProduct Evangelist for Red Gate Software

• Hi,

that query was surely not optimized. I added one additional, combined index and suddenly the query uses a slightly different plan and is fast.