Lost Fingers

• Bruce Schneier, one of the foremost computer security experts, gave an interview recently on the state of cryptography. It's kind of short and my impression was that the interviewer was hoping for some more flashy answers. The only real interesting thing is that Schneier thinks that we're making progress on the SPAM problem and cryptography won't help here.

I read his monthly Crypto-Gram newsletter because it's always an interesting set of thoughts and essays. And some very interesting links on things that mostly relate to security, not necessarily cryptography. I used to think it was cool to be a crypto guy until I started looking at the mathematics involved. Maybe it's just me, but as someone who's had 9 semesters of calculus, I was blown away and quickly realized that wasn't my field.

He looks at things in an interesting and fascinating way. Ways that bring to mind how a criminal or terrorist might assess a situation. I'm not an expert, but it often seems to me that much of the way we implement security, at least in the US, is based more on making people feel safe than actually trying to prevent criminals from doing things.

In the April issue, he talked about a new threat in biometrics. Cars being secured by fingerprint readers to prevent theft. Not a bad idea and probably works pretty well in abstract, like if you're on an airplane. In this case, the criminals cut off the finger of the driver and used that. In Russia, more security devices on cars have resulted in more carjackings where the drivers are around. Criminals constantly prove themselves to be smart.

Now take that fingerprint reader off the data center door. I'd prefer a good old fashioned key. One I can give up.

Steve Jones

• Here in Minnesota, one of the local grocery store chains has just introduced a payment method using your fingerprint and a code.  Scan your index finger and payment for your groceries comes right out of your checking account. 

No thanks, I'll pass.

Scott