Missing Indexes

• We are noticing a lot of I/O latency on our SQL server. Is it common to have a lot of missing indexes? We are trying to narrow down what could be causing all the I/O latency we are seeing. Thanks for any help!

sql1

• There could be a lot of different reasons for latency.  Did this just start recently?  Here are some possible things; (1) should be done first, the others are in no particular order.  If you need more detail on these, we can flesh that out later.

(1) verify physical components to make sure it's not a problem there, such as: bad network card; SAN issues, include bad/slow paths/channels (I'm not sure of the correct technical terms for SAN issues, I'm a DBA, not a SAN person); etc.

(2) verify that log waits are not causing the issues, especially if you use FULL or BULK-LOGGED recovery model (rather than SIMPLE) (check the wait status in sys.databases)

(3) look for memory pressure (memory error messages) in SQL Server.  Lack of necessary RAM can cause I/O issues

(4) (to be continued...)

SQL DBA,SQL Server MVP(07, 08, 09) "Money can't buy you happiness." Maybe so, but it can make your unhappiness a LOT more comfortable!

• We have looked at our SAN and run diagnostics and there doesn't appear to be any hardware issues. I am more of a hardware/networking guy and SQL novice, so if you could help give me more instruction on the steps you listed out, I would greatly appreciate it.

Here are the types of waits we are seeing. Not sure if this helps give you more info or not?

sql2

• Your post is a bit confusing.  You start by talking about I/O Latency but show a chart for CPU usage and then ask if it's common to have a lot of missing indexes on a thread titled Missing Indexes and then show a wait type for Query Store (see the following link for what Paul Randal has to say about that).

https://www.sqlskills.com/help/waits/qds_async_queue/