Missing record!!!

• Hi

Please help me with this problem

I have a client who is working over a network using sql server.

He exprienced a problem with my program (vb 6, ADO) and when I checked the data I found that the program assumes the exisitence of a speifiec record at the dbo_Clients which has vanished from the database!!!

There is nothing in the code that would delete this record.

but I am suspecting that there are multiuseres who work concurrntly as this is my first time to work with multiuseres. but they mainly read this table!

1. are there any considerations for openning data and connecting to it with the network users?

2. what do you suggest has deleted the record

3. what do you suggest to prevent this problem in the future

many thanks

• Sameh

This is a tricky one. Firstly SQL_Server handles multiple users very well and you wont get rows deleted as a result of this.

A good place to start would be to create an "audit" table then add a DELETE and UPDATE trigger to the table that is loosing data, that inserts the deleted/updated row into your audit table, along with the value of CURRENT_USER and the date/timestamp. That would give you a good starting point to see when the row is dissapearing, and what who it's relate to.

Hope that helps

Sam

• Thanks Sam

Well, that's a good suggestion.

I suspected a piece of my delete function which could have deleted the first record not the one meant to be delelted.

But I recognized another thing with that user which actually deletes the record or at least creates a conflit.

This is when two (or serveral) users are opening a new invoice where the I do a select query ordered by invoice number and move to last record and then add 1 to the last number and then I add a new record with that number. I found that both users will be assigned the same number which causes a problem and then I find that the specific invoice vanish.

Any help on this issue?

Thanx in advance