Modify column causes "tables will be saved" warning

• [font="Times New Roman"]Using Management Studio, I increased the length of a column in a table using right-click/Modify of a table name. I get a list of all of tables, with a question "The following tables will be saved to your database. Do you want to continue?"

Since I am new to SQL Server, could someone please explain in detail What exactly is SQL Server going to save by clicking [Yes]? [/font]

• You can do it with T-SQL like:

ALTER TABLE YourTable

ALTER COLUMN YourColumn Datatype(new size)

============================================================
    SELECT YOUR PROBLEM FROM SSC.com WHERE PROBLEM DESCRIPTION =
    http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/Best+Practices/61537/[/url]

• If you were to script what a Modify column in GUI is, the you would something like below.

Alter Table MyTable

Alter Column MyColumn NewSize()

When you are done with modifying the column from GUI, it has to be saved to the table. You are getting that warning message because your SSMS has settings that do no let changes to tables be saved. You can edit that if you are certain that you want the changes to be saved from tools-->options-->designers-->table and database designers and unchecking prevent saving changes that require table recreation

The_SQL_DBA
    MCTS

"Quality is never an accident; it is always the result of high intention, sincere effort, intelligent direction and skillful execution; it represents the wise choice of many alternatives."

• When making changes with the GUI (table changes, backup, restore, jobs ...), before you click the final "OK", you can script out the change that's about to be made. That allows you to see, save, modify ... the script for the change or future changes. You can then "cancel" out of the GUI and make the change through T-SQL.

• Example: