Modify the argument sent to a process task

• hi guys,

I am writing to a text log file using Process Task which calls an msdos .bat file.

The .bat takes two arguments: the text to be added to the file and the filepath/filename

This is all working fine.

I want to modify the Process task so that I can pass to the Process Task a variable for the text; the idea is to use the same Process Task to log the start and end of the package rather than have two Process Tasks that are identical except for the Start and End text.

I was thinking that using an environment variable (scoped to the Package) would be the simplest way as I can pass that in as part of the argument expression, but how would I set it. I would prefer NOT to use script as I am a contractor and I don't think they would be able to maintain it after I am gone (hence using a .bat to write to the log file rather than a script).

I was hoping for a Set Variable Task or something similar.

TIA

Obiron

• How are you going to fire the Execute Process Task at the beginning of the package and at the end of the package as well?

Need an answer? No, you need a question
    My blog at https://sqlkover.com.
    MCSE Business Intelligence - Microsoft Data Platform MVP

• Ermmm,

By adding a Process Task object to the start and end of the process Flow??

Or am I missing something?

[font="Courier New"]ProcessTask:WriteToLog(Start) -> SQLTask:RunScript -> FlatFileTask:DumpTableToCSV -> FileSystemTask:CopyFile -> ProcessTask:WriteToLog(End)[/font]

• aaron.reese (2/27/2012)

... the idea is to use the same Process Task to log the start and end of the package rather than have two Process Tasks that are identical except for the Start and End text.

Wasn't that the whole point of this thread?

• No.., maybe I diodn't explain it clearly enough.

I can write the Process task to build the argument string from variables, What I was struggling to do was to define the variable contents between calls.