More Access to MSDE questions

• My company is considering moving from Access(Jet) to MSDE and eventually SQL Server.  I've spent a long time looking around on the internet to see what I can learn, but I still have some major questions.

I'm not sure what to use on the front end (especially as it relates to the forms and reports I've developed).  A lot of what I read seems to imply that you can just stick with Access, but some people seem to think that is a bad idea.  We are planning on transitioning to a more web-based user interface.  I haven't done any web development in several years (and that was limited), so I don't really know what my options are, and I can't seem to find much on the subject.  I would prefer something fast, flexible, powerful, and reliable, and of course the cheaper the better.  I am a programmer by trade, so it doesn't have to be super user friendly, but of course that would be nice.

Also, what should I do with all of my VBA code?  A lot of the logic behind my forms and reports is in VBA(DAO), because it made them much more powerful and WAY faster.  I would even say that most of the "links" that currently exist between our data actually happen in that code.  Of course, I would love to lose as little of the work I've done as possible, but not at the expense of the database.

Also, for the suggestions you make, can you point me to any good resources (books, web pages) that could help me out along the way?

Thanks a lot for all of your help.

Jenni

• Hi jenni

If you used SQL and Access Projects you get the best of both worlds. The ease of development using Access and all your vba code can be re-used. Although you will require Access 2000 and above, and any DAO code will work, although I recommend your switch to ADO.

• Hi Jenni,

Just be careful deploying MSDE as it is not designed to handle heavy loads and has several limitations.

See the specs here: http://www.microsoft.com/sql/msde/productinfo/features.mspx