More Alternative Energy

• This vertical wind turbine is very cool. I first saw an interesting article at OpenSourceEnergy.com, but then lost it. I did find this press release, however, and it was intriguing. Especially now that I'm moving a little further away from civilization.

Not that I'm terribly worried about power. If things are that unstable, we'd probably just get a generator hooked up to the house to provide backup, but being able to reduce our power needs is an interesting hobby of mine. Not to the point where I'm doing, but I am trying to learn more.

After all, I make my living from computers and computers need power. And my lifestyle to a large extend requires power. Computers, wood working equipment, lights, etc. have made me more of a dependent on a modern life than I expected. So in anticipation of potentially being even further away at some point and wanting to lower my income requirements, I'd really love to be able to be less dependent on the local companies.

So I'm looking around and wind is interesting because we get lots in Colorado. And with 35 acres, I'd have lots of space. The noise and size of a horizontal windmill has me concerned, but this vertical one seems like it would fit nicely near my house. I'm actually hoping to one day build a small wood shop, separate building, and drive the whole thing on solar and wind power and heat with with ground source heat pumps.

Steve Jones

• I saw something like this years ago in an Australian television program.

I believe that these windmills are called Darrius windmills.

The BBC played part of George Bush's state of the union address this morning so I would guess these gadgets are going to become pretty significant in the US.

• Steve,

Stick with the wind turbine.  The generator still requires fuel.  We in Florida know this all too well. 

• Lots of things are energy hogs, given the way we use them (instant on TVs and other appliances).